Originating in Finland in 2003 with 7 countries, the Karaoke World Championships are an international karaoke competition, featuring nearly 30 countries worldwide in 2007.

National trials are conducted in each participating country every year with the winners competing in the international finals for the titles of male & female Karaoke World Champions. Finland was the host country for the international finals from 2003 until 2005. In 2006, the finals were held aboard the MS Galaxy, whilst cruising the Baltic Sea from Helsinki to Estonia return. Thailand was the first country to host the finals outside of Finland in September, 2007. In 2008, the event returned to Finland, and was twice consecutively in Lahti Hall.

Karaoke World Championships
Genre International Talent Search
Country Of Origin Finland
Producers Oy KWC Organisation Ltd
Started 2003
Final Venues
2003-2005 Heinola, Finland
2006 M/S Galaxy
2007 Bangkok, Thailand
2008-2009 Lahti, Finland
2010 Moscow, Russia
2011 Killarney, Ireland
2012-2013 Lappeenranta, Finland
2014 Stockholm, Sweden
2015 Singapore
2016 Vancouver, Canada
2017 Helsinki, Finland
Reigning Champions
Chyeé Howell, USA and Pedro Matias, Angola

In December 2005, the top 5 male & female champions of that year were invited to perform for the Princess of Thailand in Bangkok, Thailand in the 'KWC Lights Up The Night' tsunami fundraising concert. The black tie concert was televised throughout Thailand and raised money for the 2004 tsunami victims.

On April 6, 2007, Finnish National Karaoke World Champion 2005 & 3rd place Karaoke World Champion 2005, Ari Koivunen, was announced as the winner of idols, the Finnish version of the UK hit, Pop Idol. 

The 2011 World Championships took place in Killarney, Ireland between 8 September and 10 September at INEC, Gleneagle.

The 2012 World Championships took place in Lappeeranta, Finland between 28 November and 1 December at Holiday Club Saimaa

The 2013 World Championships took place in Lappeeranta, Finland between 21 November and 23 November at Holiday Club Saimaa

The 2014 World Championships took place in Stockholm, Sweden between 13 November and 15 November at Solidaritet Arena

The 2015 World Championships took place in Singapore between 20 November and 22 November at the Boutique on Orchard Road with a record number of 31 countries participating.

The 2016 World Championships took place in Vancouver, Canada between 1 November and 6 November at Edgewater Casino

The 2017 World Championships took place in Helsinki, Finland between 14 November and 18 November at Tellaka Pavillion.

Participating Countries

Azerbaijan Republic
Faroe Islands
New Zealand
South Africa
United Kingdom
United States Of America


2017 Male
1st Pedro Matias, Angola
2nd Didieric Coste, France
3rd Andy Navarette, USA
2017 Female
1st Chyeé Howell, USA
2nd Emely Myles, Panamá
3rd Margarita Dvoynenko, Ukraine
2016 Duos
1st Rena Saito and Ryota Kaizo, Japan
2nd Beth Brennan and Mikko Bordeaux, USA
3rd Emely Myles and Ricardo Canto, Panamá
2016 Male
1st Ryota Kaizo, Japan
2nd Gabriel Much, USA
3rd Marc Motzer, Germany
2016 Female
1st Astrid Nicole, Panama
2nd Laura Moreau, USA
3rd Bruna Higashi, Spain
2016 Duos
1st Konomi Rivers & Lance Moore, USA
2nd Astrid Nicole & Hiram Harris, Panama
3rd Heidi Joshua & Roger Feng, Canada
2015 Male
1st Muhammad Fairus bin Adam, Singapore
2nd Jeff Edwards, USA
3rd Michael Victorero, Canada
2015 Female
1st Elsaida Alerta, Canada
2nd Paula Danielsen, Faroe Islands
3rd Charo Gimenez Bravo, Spain
2014 Male
1st Anthony Montius Magee, USA
2nd Mitchell Freeman, Canada
3rd Kamsani Jumahat, Singapore
2014 Female
1st Diana Villamonte, Panama
2nd Miriam Kim, USA
3rd Monika Nike Adiba, Indonesia
2013 Male
1st Teruhisa Tanaka, Japan
2nd Michael Asovale, New Zealand
3rd Roman Leyba, Russia
2013 Female
1st Sarah Ramos, Spain
2nd Jenni Ylätalo, Finland
3rd Kimberly Evans, USA
2012 Male
1st Luis Boutin, Panama
2nd Ville Pyykönen, Finland
3rd Cornelius Andrews, USA
2012 Female
1st Raquel Pando, Spain
2nd Candice Skjonnemand, Australia
3rd Lilibeth Garcia, Philippines
2011 Male
1st Marc Hatem, Lebanon
2nd Joel Cruz, Philippines
3rd Vladimir Pak, Russia
2011 Female
1st Cassandra Jopp, USA
2nd Estefania Gralla, Spain
3rd Jerrica Santos, Canada
2010 Male
1st Sam Moudden, Finland
2nd Fedor Rytikov, Russia
3rd Georg Duschlbauer, Austria
2010 Female
1st Maria Saarimaa-Ylitalo, Finland
2nd Julia Kurileva, Russia
3rd Tami Marie, USA
2009 Male
1st Adrian Kenny, Ireland
2nd Sami Muhonen, Finland
3rd Elie-Georges Hatem, Lebanon
2009 Female
1st Aina Elin Gundersen, USA
2nd Dina David, Australia
3rd Jenni Roth, Finland
2008 Male
1st Michael Bates, Australia
2nd Anthony Garcia, United Kingdom
3rd Medhanie Mezgebe, Sweden
2008 Female
1st Julie Gonnet, France
2nd Elaine O'Halloran, Ireland
3rd Jasmine Kara, Sweden
2007 Male
1st Lu Hee Wah (Kelvin), Malaysia
2nd Michael Moses Griffin, USA
3rd David Naughton, Ireland
4th Juha Karvonen, Finland
5th Gabor Erdélyi, Hungary
2007 Female
1st Julie Walter-Sgro, Australia
2nd Vanessa Cooney, Ireland
3rd Gabriella Lukács, Hungary
4th Tina Fischer, Sweden
5th Corina Susanna Mitchell, Austria
2006 Male
1st Mark Wilson, Australia
2nd David September, South-Africa
3rd Badri Ibrahim, Malaysia
4th Patcharaphol Atipremanon, Thailand
5th Harry Ross, Germany
2006 Female
1st Tham Hui Chyi (Vicky Tham), Malaysia
2nd Yao Dan, China
3rd Veronica Konnova, Russia
4th Helena Virt, Estonia
5th Michele Lynch, Ireland
2005 Male
1st Iyad Sfeir, Lebanon
2nd Danny Cummins, Ireland
3rd Ari Koivunen, Finland
4th Timothy Duff Morrison, USA
5th Paolo Verdade, Portugal
2005 Female
1st Rachel Browne, Ireland
2nd Saisunee Sukhakrit, Thailand
3rd Isabel Viana, Portugal
4th Maria Saarimaa, Finland
5th Kelee Buswell, Australia
2004 Male
1st Thomas Strübler, Austria
2nd Robin Berg, Finland
3rd Bret Harmon, USA
4th Sami Gabriel, Lebanon
5th Sami Muhonen, Finland
2004 Female
1st Samantha Sayegh, Lebanon
2nd Shirley Lowther, Ireland
3rd Cathrine Hovland, Norway
4th Ann Wikström, Finland
5th Marianne Furberg, Norway
2003 Male
1st Uche Eke, England
2nd Olli-Pekka Junttila, Finland
3rd Jan-Mikael Pennanen, Finland
4th Jorn Grepperud, Norway
5th Alex Styrna, Poland
2003 Female
1st Danni Cadby, England
2nd Säde Hovisilta, Finland
3rd Christine Aas-Hals, Norway
4th Noora Lehtinen, Finland
5th Susanna Gärdström, Finland